Recipes

Stay-at-Home Cinnamon Rolls


Yesterday I had to leave work sick.  Presently my seasonal allergies are bad enough that a sinus infection swept over me and for the first few days I couldn’t even tell the difference.  It rained all night, the sky is grey, and I’ve bummed myself out imagining my long-awaited weekend wasting away trapped in a storm cloud with a sniffly nose.  So I thought to myself, what is the one thing I could eat right now that would change the game entirely?  What can I make to really put this cold to bed?  The answer, I’m finding is as simple and sweet and cinnamon and sugar: cinnamon rolls.

plated cinnamon roll

As a full-time doughnuteer I am familiar with the ups-and-downs of leavened dough.  Even so, I’ve never set some yeast to proof in a bowl with complete confidence that it would rise for me.  The tiny little lifters are fickle friends, and they need to be treated with the utmost respect.  I hoped they would work with me today, as they’ve frequently done in the past and I was pleased with the results.

Cinnamon Rolls

FOR THE DOUGH:
1/2 C warm water
1 1/4 oz. package yeast
1/3 C butter, melted
1/4 C sugar
1/2 C milk
1 tsp salt
1 egg
3 1/2 C all purpose flour

FOR THE FILLING:
3/4 C sugar
2 Tbsp cinnamon
1/3 C butter, melted

FOR THE GLAZE:
1 C powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
2-3 tsp water

1. Combine the yeast and warm water in a small bowl and set aside 5 minutes to proof.

2. In a standing mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine butter, sugar, milk, salt, and egg on low speed until incorporated.  Add the yeast mixture and half the flour.

3.  Switch to the dough hook and add the remaining flour.  Mix on medium-low for 5-6 minutes until dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl.

4.  Set dough in a large, well-oiled bowl for 1-2 hours, until doubled in size.

5. Once doubled, punch down the dough and roll out into a 16×10″ rectangle.  Do your best to keep square corners but know that it’ll all be fine if you don’t.

6.  Spread the melted butter all over your dough, leaving some for later to brush the pan.  Mix together the cinnamon and sugar and distribute across the rectangle of dough.  Starting at one long end, roll up and away from you until you have a long dough tube.  Seam-side down, make quick cuts about 1″ wide, reshaping the roll into a circle as you cut each one.  Brush the bottom and sides of your pan with butter and arrange the rolls close together in the pan.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
7.  Preheat the oven to 350°F and allow the rolls to rest another 30-45 minutes, until doubled again in size.  Bake for 30 minutes, or until golden brown.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

8.  In the meantime, combine your glaze ingredients, adjusting proportions for desired consistency.

9.  Once the rolls are done, dab glaze across the top and allow them to sit in the pan for 10 minutes before tucking in.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I wish I could write more for you, but my fingers are sticky and, honestly, I’m kind of tired and uninspired today.  I think I’m gonna have one more cinnamon roll and get back to binge-watching Orange is the New Black.

Snifflingly yours,
BB

2 thoughts on “Stay-at-Home Cinnamon Rolls

Leave a Reply

