Dailies

Sunday Brunch & the New York Times!


I’ve been quite the busy Breakfast Bachelor this month so far and it’s only December 3rd!  If you’re following me on Facebook or Twitter (you really should be!), then forgive me for repeating myself, but yesterday I had the pleasure to cook a brunch for 4 through Kitchensurfing (check out my NYC profile!) and had the THRILL of entertaining a NY Times reporter and photographer throughout the event!  I was interviewed and photographed and all that jazz for an article coming out soon to profile Kitchensurfing as a great up-and-coming chef-booking tool in the city.

For this brunch I started with an appetizer of baked brie, topped with a compote of caramelized onions and apples, spiced with clove.  Served with some crusty bread and a fizzy Prosecco and creme de cassis cocktail, it was off to a good start!  I followed that up with a pear salad, with Bosc and D’Anjou pears, arugula, and balsamic vinegar, topped with thin curls of piave cheese.  Then came the main course: homemade butternut squash toast topped with pan-fried Brussels sprouts, toasted winter squash seeds, red onion, a poached egg, and a smoked paprika hollandaise, served along a few enormous slices of apple-thyme candied bacon.  Yum!

brussels and bacon

brussels and bacon

 

While everyone’s glasses were topped off, the dessert came out next: spiced mini doughnuts with a bourbon-pear glaze.  Needless to say everyone was full and happy, and I think the photographer got some great photos!

mini doughnuts

mini doughnuts

Stay tuned, since I’ll obviously be posting here the minute I hear of any article coming out!  And on to the next brunch on the 15th!

Thanks for sticking with me through it all, guys ❤
-BB

14 thoughts on “Sunday Brunch & the New York Times!

  1. Well done, BB! 🙂 Congratulations!

    Also, I suppose if anyone could convince me to eat brussel sprouts, it might well be you… that picture kind of makes me want to drool.

Leave a Reply

